England High School Education

England Education Systems

In England, compulsory education starts at the age of 5 until the age of 16. Schools in England are basically divided into 2  State schools called State Schools and Independent Schools.

Children who are 5 years old are obliged to start preschools under the name of Reception. Children who finish the Reception complete their Primary School education from 1st grade to 6th grade. At the end of primary education, children (11 and 12 years old) transfer to secondary schools for 5 years. Secondary Schools are divided into 2. These are the schools (Comphrensive Secondary) and Grammer Schools where academically successful students can go. Grammer Schools accept successful students according to the exam results at the end of 2nd and 6th grades.

Secondary Schools last a total of 5 years as 10th, 11th, 12th, GCSE1 and GCSE2 grades. Students who reach the end of the 5th year (15/16 years old) take the GCSE exams and thus graduate from secondary schools with GCSE certificates.

GCSE (General Certificate of Secondary Education) exams are very important exams. Especially universities in England such as Oxford and Cambridge take into account their GCSE diplomas when looking at the competencies of their students.

Students who have completed Secondary School can finish their education here and move on to business life if they wish. Students who want to continue their education start their A-Level or IB (International Baccalaureate) education, which will last 2 years in total.

A-Level and IB trainings can be taken at institutions offering training under the name of Sixth Form Colleges. Here, students can choose courses according to which department they want to study in the University. Students who have completed 2 years of A-Level or IB education take the A-Level exams and can make their university applications according to their results.

In short, we can show the UK education system in the chart below.

Primary School (Age 5 - 11)
Year 1
Year 2
Year 3
Year 4
Year 5
Year 6
Secondary School (Age 12 - 14)
Year 7
Year 8
Year 9
GCSE 2 ( Exam year)
A Level or IB (Age 14 - 16)
A Level - 1
A Level - 2
University (Age 18+)
Year 1
Year 2
Year 3
Postgraduate (Age 21+)
Year 1

Frequently Asked Questions

ınformatıon request form

Fill in your information and we will get back to you as soon as possible.